HomeCricketCelebrity Cricket League - CCL History, Introduction, Seasons, Matches, Facts, Teams, Schedule

Celebrity Cricket League – CCL History, Introduction, Seasons, Matches, Facts, Teams, Schedule

Celebrity Cricket League is a T20 format game played by celebrities from the entertainment industry. The league consists of nine groups of film actors representing India’s nine major regional film industries. The league was established in 2011 and is still played successfully. The CCL teams use various venues for their home games, and it has vast coverage on Indian media. What started as the four teams in 2011, 8 teams are making it a pan-India T20 tournament. Even today, the quality of the cricket played in this league isn’t that bad. Many matches have witnessed some spectacular hitting and fielding, aided by the high level of fitness that stars and even struggling actors maintain to stand out in the very competitive film industry.

Top celebs of different film industries own all nine teams of the Celebrity Cricket League. Well-known individuals have purchased other teams representing their state. Bengal Tigers team is owned by Boney and SrideviKapoor, and Mumbai Heroes by Sohail Khan. Kerala Strikers is owned by Malayalam actor Mohanlal and filmmaker Priyadarshan, while entrepreneur Ashok Kheny owns Karnataka Bulldozers. Bhojpuri Dabbangs by Manoj Tiwari, Veer Marathi by Mahesh Manjrekar, Chennai Rhinos by Vishal, and Telugu Warriors by Akkineni Akhil. Finally, Punjab de Sher by Sonu Sood. Salman Khan makes it a point to attend most CCL games, and the concept has enthralled sponsors.

History & When It was Launched?

History of Celebrity cricket league
History of Celebrity cricket league

The Celebrity Cricket League, CCL was inspired by the popularity of the Indian Premier League (India’s official T20 League Tournament), having franchises in key Indian cities. CCL was founded and managed by Vishnu Vardhan Induri, a Hyderabad-based entrepreneur. In 2010, he launched his league by selling franchise rights to four teams’ rights in the first season. Two more teams were introduced for the second season. Over the years, new teams were added, with celebrities showing their interest in investing in franchises.

Teams in Celebrity Cricket League

Celebrity Cricket League Teams
Celebrity Cricket League Teams

The four teams that competed in the first season of the Celebrity Cricket League are the Karnataka Bulldozers, Mumbai Heroes, Chennai Rhinos, and Telugu Warriors. In the first season, Chennai Rhinos successfully defeated The Karnataka Bulldozers. In the second season, too, Chennai Rhinos were the CCL trophy winners. The second season of CCL that began on January 13th ended on February 13th, 2012. This season witnessed the addition of new teams were introduced: Bengal Tigers and Kerala Strikers.

History & Winners of CCL

Winners of CCL
Winners of CCL
  • First Season

As mentioned above, the first season of Celebrity Cricket League happened in 2011 and was played by Chennai Rhinos, Mumbai Heroes, Telugu Warriors, and Karnataka Bulldozers. The first season also saw teams creating awareness about the anti-piracy, which the film industry has struggled to beat for ages. In the first season, Chennai Rhinos successfully defeated The Karnataka Bulldozers.

  • Second Season

The second season ran from January 13 through February 13, 2012. The Kerala Strikers and the Bengal Tigers were two new cricket teams in the CCL. The “Mumbai Heroes” team from the Hindi film business chose Sharjah as its home base. The Chennai Rhinos won the CCL 2 title for the second time in a row, defeating the Karnataka Bulldozers.

  • Third Season

Veer Marathi, owned by Mahesh Manjrekar, and Bhojpuri Dabbangs, owned by Manoj Tiwari, were introduced in the third season. The first match of Season 3 was played by Mumbai on 19th January 2013 and was widely considered a big affair. The audience enjoyed the live performance by Salman Khan, Katrina Kaif, Bipasha Basu, and a slew of other superstars. On February 9, 2013, Kerala Strikers played Mumbai Heroes in the inauguration ceremony in Kochi. Bipasha Basu and Kajal Agarwal, two well-known Bollywood actors, have been named brand ambassadors for the season 3 campaign. The Karnataka Bulldozers beat the Telugu Warriors to win the trophy of the Celebrity Cricket League 3 championship.

  • Fourth Season

The fourth season of Celebrity Cricket League,CCL saw a wider reach. Colors TV joined as a broadcast partner for the Mumbai Heroes games, and Rishtey TV telecasted all of the games, giving CCL Season 4 a wider reach than previous seasons. For the fourth year in a row, the Karnataka Bulldozers have qualified for the finals. They defeated Kerala Strikers to win the cup and won the trophy of season 4th.

  • Fifth Season

In terms of income and broadcast audience, CCL season 5 witnessed success. According to the report by TAM, the CCL was the country’s second most-watched athletic league, thanks to its coverage on Colors in Hindi-speaking areas and Sun Network Channels covering the majority of South India. Telugu Warriors defeated two-time champion Chennai Rhinos to win the title for the first time.

  • Sixth Season

In this sixth season, Punjab de Sher, captained by Sonu Sood, entered the league. The team introduced Daler Mehndi as the brand ambassador, and Mr. Puneet and Navraj Hans were the team’s owners. Even though it had a solid team, it lost against a few other teams, and the Telugu Warriors won the second time.

CCL is all about Glam and Thrill

Glam of CCL
Glam of CCL

Since the Celebrity Cricket League involves biggies from the entertainment industry, you can expect high-octane glam on and off the field. Glam Nights are unique, invitation-only after-parties held for teams competing in the CCL. They are held in unique locations with delectable cuisine and a broad range of beverages. This spectacular features the top modern music and attracts society’s upper crust to these events. Glam Night is a fantastic way for gamers, celebrities, and individuals to refresh post-match. With varied and dashing after-parties after every big CCL match, The Glam Nights raise the bling factor of CCL to new heights. Glam Nights are the place to go if you want to see a lot of celebs and athletes.

Social Work

CCL 100 Hearts
CCL 100 Hearts

CCL is not just about glam nights and thrilling matches but also about social work. One such is the”100 Hearts“. The ‘100 Hearts’ project was created to financially support 100 kids who require surgery for a heart condition. The CCL 5 was played with an objective and was a major hit with fans and the sports community. The initiative saw some of the top stars like Huma Quereshi, Sachin Joshi, Suniel Shetty, Gulshan Grover, Anupam Kher, and others. The initiative blended with thrill and glam was a great idea.

Also Read:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular