Indian Women to Make their Debut in Pink Ball Test in Australia 

Pink Ball Test in Australia
Pink Ball Test in Australia

On Thursday, BCCI secretary Jay Shah announced that Indian women cricket team will be playing their first ever pink ball test in their upcoming tour of Australia. The 2017 Ashes hosted the first ever pink ball test for women, Indian women will only be the third team to play a day-night test match. 

The last test encounter between India and Australia was in 2006, Australia registered a huge victory under the captaincy of Karen Rolton. Having played no test cricket since 2014, Indian women will now be playing two test matches, including one test against England in June and the day-night test against Australia in September-October. 

“As players, we’ve said for a long time that we’d love to play more Test matches,” Australia captain Meg Lanning said on Wednesday. “It’s an exciting prospect and I know Indian women are heading over to England to play a test match pretty soon so it shows they’re up for the challenge and really willing to play that format”, she added.


India will play a multi-format series in Australia. The tour will begin with a three-match ODI series from September 19th at Sydney. The ODI series will be followed by the historic day-night Test at WACA, Perth. India will then play a three-match T20I series from October 7th at Sydney. 

India tour of Australia – 2021 Schedule 

1st ODI: September 19th at North Sydney Oval, Sydney

2nd ODI: September 22nd at Junction Oval, Melbourne 

3rd ODI: September 24th at Junction Oval, Melbourne 

Pink Ball Test: September 30th to October 3rd at WACA, Perth

1st T20I: October 7th at North Sydney Oval, Sydney

2nd ODI: October 9th at North Sydney Oval, Sydney 

3rd ODI: October 11th at North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Indian women have started their quarantine at Mumbai, ahead of their England tour, starting from June 16th

Also Read: Indian Players get vaccinated ahead of crucial games