HomeCricketIPL 2021: Chennai Super Kings Beats Kolkata Knight Riders to lift the...

IPL 2021: Chennai Super Kings Beats Kolkata Knight Riders to lift the 4th Title


The iconic Chennai Super Kings franchise defeated the arch-rivals Kolkata Knight Riders in the final of Vivo IPL 2021 to emerge victoriously and lift the IPL triumph for the fourth time. The Yellow Lions displayed a clinical all-round performance in the Final at the Dubai International Stadium to seal another spot on the glorious trophy. 

By winning their fourth title, Chennai Super Kings is just another title away from the most successful IPL franchise Mumbai Indians. Chennai had a scintillating season of IPL as they seized every opportunity to book a spot in the Final and got through with their dominant performance at the mega final stage in UAE.

Faf du Plessis, Shardul Thakur Shine

Faf Du Plessis
Faf Du Plessis in IPL

Winning the toss, Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Eoin Morgan decided to bowl first in the Final. Captain MS Dhoni sent in his star performers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis to open the innings. The openers set the stage for the Super Kings with a quickfire 61-run partnership. Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 32 runs off 27 balls and subsequently won the Orange Cap.

Faf du Plessis continued to oust the Kolkata bowlers till the last ball as he scored a stellar final knock of 86 runs of just 59 balls. Du Plessis was supported with rapid knocks from Moeen Ali (37 runs of 20 balls) and Robin Uthappa (31 runs of 15 balls) to set up a challenging total of 193 for the Kolkata Knight Riders.

For Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunil Narine picked up 2 wickets for 26 runs whereas Shivam Mavi claimed a wicket apiece.

The Knight Riders rode on to an impressive start by openers Shubhman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer who scored 51 and 50 runs respectively. Kolkata suffered to a humiliating batting order collapse as they were bundled out for 165 runs as Chennai won the final by 27 runs. Other than the two openers, no regular batsman crossed the double-digit mark for KKR.

Shardul Thakur was the star performer in Chennai’s bowling department who claimed 3 wickets for 38 runs. Josh Hazelwood and Ravindra Jadeja picked up two wickets each.

Man of the Match: Faf du Plessis 

IPL 2021 Final Match Preview
IPL 2021 Final Match Preview

CSK: 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021… and counting

Notably, the Chennai Super Kings franchise won their fourth IPL franchise and all were under the marvelous captaincy of legend MS Dhoni. MS Dhoni is the most successful captain at IPL who led Chennai to the finals in 2021. Previously, Chennai won in 2010 by defeating Mumbai Indians in the final and won the only consecutive IPL trophy in 2011 by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore. In the 2018 season of IPL, Chennai Super Kings defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad to win their third title.

Will MS Dhoni Announce his Retirement?

MS Dhoni Retirement
MS Dhoni Retirement

After CSK seized another IPL Cup, speculations over Dhoni’s retirement took place. Dhoni announced his retirement from international cricket in 2020. He continued to play IPL and in a recent interview, he hinted that he is willing to play the 2022 season of IPL. However, ahead of the mega IPL auction of 2022, Dhoni might opt-out after winning the 2021 IPL. Stay tuned with us for all the updates.

IPL 2021: Awards List

  • Winners: Chennai Super Kings 
  • Runners-Up: Kolkata Knight Riders 
  • Player of the Tournament: Harshal Patel
  • Orange Cap Winner: Ruturaj Gaikwad
  • Purple Cap Winner: Harshal Patel
  • Dream 11 Game Changer of the Season: Harshal Patel
  • Cred Power Player of the Season: Venkatesh Iyer
  • Unacademy Cracking most sixes of the Season: KL Rahul
  • Vivo Perfect Catch of the Season: Ravi Bishnoi
  • Safari Super Striker of the Season: Shimron Hetmyer
  • Emerging Player of the Season: Ruturaj Gaikwad

Twitter Reactions on CSK Winning their 4th IPL Trophy

Also Read:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_imgspot_imgspot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular