New Zealand beats India to Clinch the Inaugural World Test Championship Title


New Zealand defeated India to win the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship at The Ageas Bowl in Southampton, England. A rain interrupted Final went on to the Reserve Day for a result. New Zealand was successful in defeating India by 8 wickets. The World No. 1 Test team was in total disappointment after the loss.

Winning the Toss, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson elected to field first. India rode on to a confident start with openers Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill built a 62-run partnership. Sharma scored 34 runs and Gill was out for 28. Captain Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane played crucial knocks to add 61 runs for the 4th wicket stand and scored 44 and 49 runs respectively.

India was bowled out for 217 in the 1st innings. For New Zealand, Kylie Jamieson was the pick of the bowlers claiming 5 wickets for 31 runs in his 22 overs. Trent Boult picked up 2 wickets for 47 runs in 21 overs. Neil Wagner was successful in getting 2 wickets for 40 runs in his 15 overs. Tim South picked a wicket for 64 runs in 22 overs.


New Zealand scored 249 in their first innings. Tom Latham and Devin Conway gave a brilliant start by adding 70 runs for the first wicket. Latham scored 30 whereas Conway scored 54. Captain Williamson scored a patient 49 runs off 177 balls. In the tail end, Jamieson and Southee added 21 and 30 runs respectively.

For India, Mohammed Shami claimed the best figures of 4/26. Ishant Sharma picked up 3 wickets whereas Ashwin claimed 2 wickets for 28 runs and Jadeja got 1 wicket for 20 runs.

India managed to score a mere 170 runs in the second innings. Rishabh Pant scored 41 runs off 88 balls and Rohit Sharma scored 30 runs off 81 balls. Tim Southee was the pick of the bowlers as he claimed 4 wickets for 48 runs. Boult claimed 3, Jamieson picked 2 and Wagner got a wicket apiece.

Chasing a total of 139 runs, New Zealand rode on to an unbeaten 3rd wicket partnership between Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor. Kane Williamson scored a brilliant 52 of 89 balls and Ross Taylor scored 47 of 100 balls. For India, Ravichandran Ashwin claimed the fallen two wickets. 

Congratulations to New Zealand for winning the first-ever World Test Championship.

Also Read: Shikhar Dhawan to lead the Young Indian Players in the Upcoming India Tour of Sri Lanka