HomeCricketT20 World Cup 2021 Winner: Australia Defeat New Zealand to Claim Their...

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner: Australia Defeat New Zealand to Claim Their Maiden T20 World Cup Title


T20 World Cup 2021 Winner: Australia defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets in the final of the ICC T-20 World Cup 2021. This is Australia’s maiden T-20 World Cup title and they have won five ODI World Cups before creating the history today. The much anticipated final took place at the Dubai International Stadium in the United Arabs Emirates.

Winning the toss, Australian skipper Aaron Finch decided to bowl first on a hard wicket. New Zealand rode on to a sloppy start as openers Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell took time to set at the crease. Before they could open their arms, they were sent back to the pavilion with a tidy Australian bowling lineup.

Captain Kane Williamson came to the rescue as he powered New Zealand to register a challenging total of 172 runs. Williamson scored a knock of 85 runs of 48 balls that were the highest individual score by any captain in a T-20 World cup final. For Australia, the pick of the bowlers was Josh Hazlewood who claimed 3 wickets for 16 runs in his four overs.

Australia Vs NewZealand Match Highlights
Australia Vs NewZealand Match Highlights

Chasing a competitive total of 173, Australia lost a quick wicket at the start but were led by a splendid chase by the hands of David Warner and Mitchell Marsh. The two set a 92-run second-wicket partnership where Warner scored 53 runs of 38 balls and Mitchell Marsh remained unbeaten on 77. Maxwell came in and played his role by scoring 28 of 18 balls.

For New Zealand, Trent Boult was the star bowler who picked up two wickets for 16 runs. The match ended with many records broken. Here are the highlights of the match:

Brief Scores

New Zealand 1st Innings: 172-4 (20 Overs)

  • Kane Williamson- 85 (48)
  • Martin Guptill- 28 (35)
  • Josh Hazlewood- 3/16
  • Adam Zampa- 1/28

Australia 2nd Innings- 173-2 (18.5 overs)

  • Mitchell Marsh- 77 (50)
  • David Warner- 53 (38)
  • Trent Boult- 2/16

Records Broken

Australia Maiden T20 World Cup
Australia Maiden T20 World Cup
  • Australia won their maiden T-20 World Cup title.
  • This is Australia’s sixth World Cup title.
  • New Zealand entered the third consecutive final of the world cup but unfortunately lost on all three occasions.
  • Kane Williamson scored the highest score by any captain at a T-20 World Cup final.
  • Mitchell Marsh scored the fastest fifty of 31 balls by any batsman in a T-20 World Cup final.
  • David Warner and Mitchell Marsh set the highest partnership in a T-20 World cup final.
  • Australia recorded the highest chase in a T-20 World cup final.

Here is the list of awards by ICC:

  • Player of the Match: Mitchell Marsh (Australia)
  • Player of the Tournament: David Warner (Australia)

Here’s How Twitter Reacted to Australia’s Maiden T20 World Cup Triumph After Win Over New Zealand

Also Read:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_imgspot_imgspot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular